musepasob.blogg.se

Adobe pdf search not working
Adobe pdf search not working










  1. #Adobe pdf search not working how to#
  2. #Adobe pdf search not working pdf#
  3. #Adobe pdf search not working install#
  4. #Adobe pdf search not working update#

I was ultimately able to fix the problem, but had to figure out how through trial and error.

#Adobe pdf search not working pdf#

I followed the instructions given here about disabling the Firefox pdf viewer and deleting the mimetypes.rdf file, but realized that this is a mistake: If you disable pdfs.js in about:config, that will cause the PDF file type to disappear from the Tools/Options dialog, so you can't assign it to another program (whether Adobe or anything else). I spent the entire day and much of last night trying to fix this problem. I was really stumped by this, because it previously worked just fine. I had a variation on this same problem-both Acrobat 9 and Reader 10.7 installed, along with the latest Acrobat plugin, but Firefox was downloading all PDF files instead of viewing them in the browser.

#Adobe pdf search not working install#

The screen shot will be of the FF plugin page, and my antivirus program's software updateer screen.Īlso: my antivirus program is working overtime, because it keeps trying to install the latest version of Adobe Reader which, I already have! I just have this thing: when I check my plugin updates, it says Vulnerable! I will attach a screen shot (scanned and safe). I could put my first through the screen!įunny thing, my Adobe Reader works fine! It is set to default here in FF Version: 20.0.1 and opens my documents no problem. "well, you have to contact the browser developer." blah blah blah.

adobe pdf search not working

I had contacted Adobe and of course they asked: "what browser do you use?". It will not install the latest version either. Adobe will not give the option because of Windows Vista.Įven my Antivirus program: It runs scans, to keep all my software up-to-date.

#Adobe pdf search not working update#

It keeps prompting me to update to 10.1.6, and everytime I try.

adobe pdf search not working

My Adobe Reader 10.1.4 is the latest version for Windows Vista. Enough already from the bad precedent of the entertainment industry that harms everyone. I'm hoping that it's not about intellectual property or anything litigious. Mozilla is the true humanitarian here with its free and fantastic browser (using it since the very beginning all those vers ago.:-), that somehow the sides might find a way to come together and fix this essential element of the web browsing experience. Just a thought from a humble and lowly user.

#Adobe pdf search not working how to#

A more proactive release might have included an alert for all users on how to fix the Adobe Reader problem temporarily by reacquainting their users with the manual configuration settings for the handling of applications in Firefox. Nevertheless, this 'opportunity' reminded me that Mozilla was aware of the problem and still released ver 19 on its unsuspecting user base. So, I was reminded of the beauty of manually controlling how Firefox handles applications. It now works in ver 19 the way that I want the application to work by opening my version of Adobe Pro directly. Thanks, Kevin! I reconfigured Adobe as per the suggestion above for the Reader.

adobe pdf search not working

If all else fails then I discovered that the built-in pdf reader has an action button that will allow download of the document. This was apparently a bug in the past but supposedly had been fixed. It would certainly be nice if FF fixed the built-in viewer so that it obeyed the options settings, or included some other easy fix.

adobe pdf search not working

Firefox does not like the Acrobat 9.4 plugin, so I'm not sure that I will be able to get this to work on my machine with Acrobat 9.4. With this I can now click on a pdf link in the browser and have it open externally in Acrobat.Īt least this worked for the one PC that I got to work, which has Acrobat 10 and an Acrobat 10 plugin. What I had to do was two things:ġ) In the config file I had to set pdfjs to true, as detailed in the above kb link Simply setting the options for pdfs to open in Acrobat does not work - I already had checked this setting to make certain that it pointed to Acrobat for pdfs. However it takes some doing to be able to use Acrobat to view the files externally. Thank you for letting me know about the built-in pdf reader in FF19.












Adobe pdf search not working